Thursday, September 11, 2014

Crime Writers Association Shortlists Announced

The UK's Crime Writers Association has announced its shortlists for three of its major awards. I always get excited about the CWA shortlists because some of these books are new to US publication or, in some cases, not even published here yet.

The winners will be announced on Friday, October 24th, at the Crime Thriller Awards.

In the lists below, I've indicated the US publishing information.

The CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year

Paul Mendelson: The First Rule of Survival (Apparently not published in the US)

Louise Penny: How the Light Gets In (Minotaur, 2013)

Paula Daly: Keep Your Friends Close (Grove Press, August 19, 2014)

Wiley Cash: This Dark Road to Mercy (William Morrow, January 28, 2014)

The CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger (debut novels)

Ray Celestin: The Axeman's Jazz (Apparently not published in the US, though the book is set in New Orleans)

Antonia Hodgson: The Devil in the Marshalsea (Mariner Books, June 10, 2014)

A. S. A. Harrison: The Silent Wife (Penguin Books, 2013)

M. J. Carter: The Strangler Vine (Putnam Adult, March 31, 2015)

The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger  (thrillers)

Louise Doughty: Apple Tree Yard (Sarah Crichton Books, January 14, 2014)

Robert Harris: An Officer and a Spy (Knopf, January 28, 2014)

Terry Hayes: I Am Pilgrim (Atria/Emily Bestler Books, May 27, 2014)

Greg Iles: Natchez Burning (William Morrow, April 29, 2014)

1 comment:

  1. I've read half of these (Penny, Cash, Hodgson, Harrison, Harris, Hayes) and enjoyed them. I'm currently reading Iles's Natchez Burning. Handicapping to predict the winners of these categories will be tough!